Vegan Sloppy Joe’s

When my kids were little, and I lived with my meatavore husband, I would always try to fool them into thinking this was made with meat.  They are really very tasty and chewy like meat. I guess only a meatavore can detect the difference. I think they are delicious!
Vegan Sloppy Joe’s
1 med onion finely chopped
3 TB olive oil
8 oz TVP granules (textured vegetable protein)
5 oz tomato paste
24 oz water
1 t salt
1/4 t pepper
2 t chili powder
1/2 t ground cumin
2 T brown sugar or 1 t molasses (sometimes I will use honey if I don’t have either of these on hand)
1 T white vinegar
3 med cloves garlic, minced

Sauté onion in olive oil..Add tomato paste, water, sugar, and TVP and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Add the spices, vinegar and garlic and simmer over medium to low heat approx 20 minutes or until thickened. This is great on whole-wheat toast with dill pickles. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

